Your Automated Link Building Sucks

Standard

Recently, my modest little blog has been hit by a wave of spammers leaving bogus comments. They do this in an attempt to build links back to their clients’ websites,  “improving” the website’s SEO.

I know the game.

And the only joy I get out of it is the knowledge it doesn’t work. Thanks to Google’s new algorithms, that sort of dishonest link building doesn’t have much impact on SEO anymore. It just wastes my time.

So to all those businesses that are paying people to sneak links onto other people’s blogs, you’re wasting your money. And pissing me off. Which strikes me as a sort of lose-lose proposition. Not that my being annoyed is going to affect a spammer’s life in any way, but why annoy people you don’t even know? It’s just bad karma.

So where is SEO going? For 2013, it looks like content is king and social networking is rising in importance.

SEO Predictions for 2013
Comments are closed.