Want to Brand Your QR Code?

Standard

I admit to a certain fascination with QR codes, but they’re kind of… ugly.  Yeah.  I said it.

So when I heard about a free web service for customizing QR codes, QRHacker.com, I gave it a try (hat tip, @AskKim).  Even for a luddite like me, it’s pretty simple (just click the ? for step-by-step instructions).

However, whenever I tried to save a QR code with a photo of my book cover embedded in it, I got a message that the code wouldn’t work.  After some trial and error, I discovered that all I had to do was reduce the opacity of the picture to get the error bar in the blue (i.e. workable) zone again.  Easy peasy.

If you’ve got a modicum of artistic talent, you can do more with QRhacker.com than I did.  Then again, I only spent five minutes on it and it’s free, so I have to say I’m pretty happy with my little code.

Comments are closed.