Prezi: Another Way to Make a Video without a Camera

Standard

I was struggling to turn my gorgeous resume into an equally gorgeous interactive resume using PowerPoint.  Now, I like PowerPoint for a lot of things, and have been using it to turn out some bang-up eBooks for clients.  But my resume looked like dreck.  I’m just not a graphic artist.

Then I stumbled across an online presentation builder called Prezi, and in the interests of experimentation, thought I’d give it a try.

In short: it rocks.  Prezi is light years ahead of PowerPoint when it comes to graphics and digital storytelling.

With Prezi, you organize your presentation conceptually on one big canvas.  The end product looks more like a video than a slideshow.  One caveat: it’s easy to make people sick if you go crazy with wild “camera” swings.

Anyway, click here to see my first attempt at an interactive resume.  Unlike PowerPoint presentations, Prezi really is interactive — the viewer can mouse around to shift the page view, watch a video I created (or not), and comment.  Unfortunately, WordPress is finicky about HTML code and wouldn’t accept an embedded video from Prezi (it is on my kirstenweiss.com website, however).  You can also share a Prezi presentation on Facebook and Twitter… and on blogs other than WordPress.com.   Grrr…

Warning: it does take some practice to get the hang of Prezi.  My brain understood the theory, but my fingers were not clicking properly.  It took me about two hours to make my interactive resume, but I suspect future Prezi presentations will go much more quickly now I know what I’m doing.

If you’re curious about how it works, here’s a video you can watch about Prezi itself:

Comments are closed.