Dear Social Media: It’s Not You, It’s Me

Standard

Lately I’ve been feeling really pissed off and frustrated.  I’m a consultant and juggling multiple projects at once is something I’m used to.  But with all the time I spend answering e-mails and responding to comments and social media posts, it’s hard to get things done.

Yeah, it’s my fault.  The fact is, I allow the interruptions.  If I see an e-mail in the box, I cannot stop myself from responding RIGHT NOW.  Until today.

I have created a weekly schedule.  From now on, I will:

  • Check my Twitter and Facebook feeds for no more than 20 minutes in the morning and 10 minutes at the end of the day.
  • Stick to a scheduled time to work on blog posts.
  • Check my e-mail no more than four times a day.  If I have to send an e-mail and see someone’s e-mail waiting for me, I will not respond until the appointed hour.
Social media, thou shalt not rule my day!
Now if I could just get away from the damned phone…
Credit: Free images from acobox.com
2 responses

  1. I agree, Kirsten. It is so important to have a plan and make social media fit your schedule rather than the other way around.

    I hope you had a productive day.

    (That photo is really scary. It should have a disclaimer: “No humans were injured during the shooting of this picture.”)

    • I’m still having trouble with my commitment, Tammi. I’m an addict!!! But I will fight it.