What’s your social media for?

Standard

This morning at my mastery/networking group, organizer extraordinaire, Chris Stovall, talked about her methodology for working business professionals through organizational processes.  It made me think about how so many small business owners leap into social media because they “know” they should, but they don’t really understand how they can best use it or integrate it into their overall marketing strategy.

Step one to successfully utilizing social media is to clarify your goals and objectives.  Do you want to learn more about your clients?  Let existing clients know about new products or specials?  Use social media as an online referral source?  All of these things are possible, but until you’ve clarified what you want to do and who you want to reach, you’re stumbling in the dark.  And it’s important to note that different forms of social media are better at different things, and tend to reach different people.

Why do I use it?  I’m on Twitter to learn more about the social media industry and connect with others engaged in social media.  I blog to share what I’ve learned with other small business owners.  I’m on Facebook to connect with the same groups of business owners but in a more conversational fashion.  And someday, hopefully soon, I’ll be creating YouTube videos on social networking for both audiences.

Who are you trying to reach?  Why?  What do you want to let them know or what do you want to know about?

3 responses

  1. Hey Kristen. I found your blog post through digging around WordPress and noticed we are blogging about similar topics and use Twitter for the same reasons. Looking forward to future posts!

  2. Thanks, Tal!

    Basically someone I respect suggested I make myself a social media expert by just doing it. I think it’s been good advice.

    I’ll keep an eye on your blog as well!
    Kirsten